For the first time in the Ironman’s 28 years the top step of the podium was left vacant by a wrestler from either Blair Academy, St. Edward, or St. Paris Graham as each school failed to produce a champion. Another first occurred when Blair Academy won its 17th team title and became the first Team Champion without an individual champion. The overall depth of the Bucs team enabled them to win with their nine placers.

Angelo Ferrari (Melissa, TX) and Rocco Welsh (Waynesburg, PA) were the only two of eight returning champion’s to repeat. Two others finished second, two finished third, while the remaining two finished fourth and sixth.

Angelo Ferrari, in white, at the Ironman

Rocco Welsh, left, at the Ironman